Junior Leinster Championship 2011

Kildare v Monaghan Junior B

Kildare Junior B camogie girls opened their account in the Junior B Championship with a narrow but deserved 2-6 to 1-6 win over Monaghan in Naas on Sunday last 17th July. Playing with the wind in the first half Kildare went on to capitalise on an early Catriona Temple goal with further points from Graine Temple 0-3 Treacy Johnson 0-1 and Louise Doran 0-1. Monaghans only response was appoint from Shauna Finn to leave it 1-5 to 0-1 in Kildares favour at half time. The question was would it be enough facing into the wind in the second half.
The answer seemed to come five minutes into the second half when a free from sixty yards out by Louise Doran created a scramble in the Monaghan square which was eventually helped to the net by Catriona Temple to push the Lillies into a ten point lead Elaine Mc Quaid and Catriona Temple traded points but that was to be Kildares last score as Monaghan began to gain the advantage of the wind and Kildare were forced to do some serious defending. Points from Finn and another from a free by Marie Greenan reduced the lead before Kildare goalie Niamh Burke was called on to bring of a good stop in the twenty fifth minute but unfortunately the rebound went to Emma Mc Kenna who finished to the net. Monaghan were now in their best spell of the match and two more points from Mc Quaid and Greenan left just the on goal between the sides as the game entered its last few minutes. However despite Monaghan pressure the Kildare backs led by Siobhan O Shea, Katie Devine and Tracey Johnson managed to prevent a Monaghan major to leave Kildare 2-6 to 1-6 winners.
This completes the first round of the Championship and the win puts Kildare back in contention and hopefully they will be able to build on their improved form to become involved in the concluding stages. Next up is a second round rematch against Meath on 24th July. Ashbourne at 2pm.
Kildare, Niamh Burke, Aisling Farrell, Katie Devine, Siobhan O Shea, Fionnuala Kelly, Tracey Johnson, Caroline Murphy, Louise Doran, Karen Lynch, Karen Feehan, Niamh Dunney, Catriona Temple, Aisling O Halloran, Nicole Wilson, Elaine Mc Namara, Niamh Kearney, Aoife Mangan, Laura Norton, Karen Flynn, Annette Corcoran, Therese Fleming, Graine Hoban.

This entry was posted in County Players. Bookmark the permalink.